Upper Bann Sinn Féin Sinn Féin -- Building an Ireland of Equals

O'Dowd - Announces SF 'Candidates for Change'

Published: 5 March, 2019

Speaking at the Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon local government selection convention, (Monday) Sinn Féin MLA, John O'Dowd said that the party will field 'candidates for change' in the upcoming May 2nd election.

Mr O'Dowd delivered a keynote address at the convention to announce the selection of 11 candidates to fight for seats across the Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Council area.

The Upper Bann MLA said:

"Sinn Féin faces into the local government elections with the objective of electing candidates for change. Candidates who will be advocates for equality and fairness for all citizens; advocates for truth and transparency; advocates for language rights and marriage equality; advocates who will become Councillors for Change.

"We seek to deliver the maximum amount of change by returning the maximum amount of Sinn Féin councillors.

"A total of 11 candidates will contest DEAs in the Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Council area.

"Citizens have not been well served by the unionist dominated councils of the past. The next council mandate is an opportunity to change that.

"Our society is changing. We need a council that will service all citizens; that will deliver for all citizens; that will uphold and respect the rights of all citizens.

"A stronger Sinn Féin council team will ensure that the negative dominance of political unionism is challenged, that the rights of all local citizens are respected and that ratepayers get good value for money from good quality council services.

"Sinn Féin councillors will act as agents for change in local government, and promote rights, equality and Irish unity.

"This local government election comes at a time of unprecedented political instability caused by the continued denial of rights and democracy in the north by the DUP and British government, and the Brexit catastrophe being driven by their toxic alliance.

Mr O'Dowd concluded,

"We have entered the political end game. Every vote for Sinn Féin now is another brick in the road we are building towards the achievement of a new, agreed and united Ireland.

"On 2nd May, the electorate in the Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Council area will have an opportunity to elect an unprecedented number of Sinn Féin councillors, and once again drive forward the momentum for political change in our society."

Sinn Féin have selected the following candidates for the upcoming Council election: (Lurgan) Keith Haughian, Sorcha McGeown, Liam Mackle, Noel McGeown; (Craigavon) Catherine Nelson, Michael Tallon; (Portadown) Paul Duffy, Calum Ó Dufaigh; (Lagan River) Tony Gorrell; (Banbridge) Kevin Savage; Vincent McAleenan.